douglas wilson

Thursday, December 18, 2008

Helen Dardik


Helen Dardik is an amazing and whimsical illustrator! Enough said.

via GrainEdit.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

The World's First Car Navigation System


Think GPS is a new idea? Think again: The World's First Car Navigation System.

Labels: ,

Monday, December 15, 2008

RGB Glasses

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Around the World in 42 Days


My childhood was wrapped around the TV mini-series "Around the World in 80 Days" starring none other than Pierce Brosnan. We watched the VHS so much that the tape wore out and broke and we had to tape it back to the spool.

Strange Maps found a modern version of the story by Jules Verne that shows the improvements in travel. It is now possible to travel around the world (without air travel) in just 42 days.

Labels: ,

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Embroidered Text Messages


The title really says it all: Embroidered Text Messages.

Labels: , ,

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Designer Tape


Tired of the same, old packaging tape? How about some designer tape?

Labels: ,

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Sigur Ros at the MoMA



I wish I was cool enough to have been here!


Shot live at the Museum of Modern Art in New York City on Icelandic Independence Day, Sigur Rós @ MoMA is a unique concert film highlighting new material from the band's latest album, "með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust", as well as classic Sigur Rós songs. Directed by Alex Simmons.

Labels: , ,

Monday, December 8, 2008

Typographic Christmas Ideas


Here are some great Typographic Christmas Ideas - just in case you were wondering what to get me...

Labels: ,

Sunday, December 7, 2008

The Island of San Serriffe


The Guardian has found out more information about a very small island in the Indian Ocean by the name of San Serriffe. So interesting!

Labels: , , ,

Friday, December 5, 2008

Roadsworth


Montreal-based street artist Roadsworth creates some great public work.

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Anthony Burrill


Anthony Burrill makes nice things. Especially this letterpressed poster: Work Hard & Be Nice To People.

Labels: , ,

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Kinetic Typography


Typography and motion; put together in great ways: 20 Brilliant Kinetic Typography Videos.

Labels: , ,

Monday, December 1, 2008

Typography Flickr Groups


In need of some typographic inspiration? These 30 Typography Flickr Groups should help.

Labels: , ,