douglas wilson

Saturday, February 28, 2009

Everything Old Is New Again


The giant cereal company, General Mills, has released a set of vintage designs for some of their popular cereals. The above Kix box has insanely awesome type! The DieLine has more information.

Labels: , ,

Thursday, February 26, 2009

A Continious Lean


"A Continuous Lean is about things. American things, good looking things, well designed things and all sorts of other things. Sometimes A Continuous Lean even talks about people and ideas. That’s it, keep it simple. More good, less bad."

Labels: , ,

Piecing Together the Dark Legacy of East Germany's Secret Police


Wired Magazine has a great article about the Stasi (East German Secret Police) and how just before the collapse of the Berlin Wall, they shredded 45 million documents in an effort to get rid of the evidence of spying on their own people.

Now, a team of German computer scientists are trying to trying to piece together some of those papers to find out the stories of the past. Fascinating!

Labels:

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

The Great War Book Jackets

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Matchbooks

Monday, February 23, 2009

Dan Funderburgh


Dan Funderburgh makes very interesting art pieces and prints and other things. His work is difficult to describe, so just check it out!

Labels: ,

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Akzidenz Grotesk on the Streets


I had posted a few images of this project a while back, but now I have found more information about it - Tobias Battenberg took typography and a projector to the streets and made some very interesting photographs.

Labels: , ,

Saturday, February 21, 2009

Twentysix Abandoned Gas Stations


Working off of Ed Rushas's Twentysix Gas Stations, Eric Tabuchi has photographed Twentysix Abandoned Gas Stations. Great stuff!

Labels: ,

Friday, February 20, 2009

New York City Subway Destination Prints


These old New York City Subway Destination Prints are quite nice!

Labels: , ,

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Lettering of Brooklyn


Paul Shaw has been documenting the commercial and residential lettering of Brooklyn and has written a great article with photos all about it!

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Hyllie Water Tower


Like something straight out of a science fiction film, this water tower in Hyllie, Sweden is something amazing.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Letter Museum in Berlin


The Letter Museum’s mission is the preservation and documentation of letters, regardless of culture, language and font systems. Yet another reason I need to visit Berlin!

Labels: , ,

Friday, February 13, 2009

Posting Hiatus


I'm off to warmer climates with my passport in hand for a long weekend, so posting will take a snowbird holiday as well.

Labels: ,

Thursday, February 12, 2009

The Inauguration. At Last.


Maira Kalman (of whom I have posted before) went to the recent Presidential Inauguration and painted her way through the event. Wonderful!

Labels: ,

Futurist Typography

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

Graphic Design for Olivetti


Giovanni Pintori made spectacular design for Olivetti Typewriters. So good it hurts!

Labels: ,

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Vintage German Illustration

Monday, February 9, 2009

Faux Mid-Century Disney Posters



Greg Maletic made some faux Disney mid-century posters for fun and Disney ended up hiring him - who says personal work doesn't pay?!

Labels: , , ,

Sunday, February 8, 2009

Soviet Sci-Fi Architecture



Photographer Frederic Chaubin is documenting 1970's and 80's Soviet Architecture that all has a strange sci-fi feel to it...

Labels: , ,

Saturday, February 7, 2009

David Maisel


I have (and always will) have a love for what I like to call "massive photography." David Maisel's Oblivion Series is one of the best in my opinion.

Labels: ,

Friday, February 6, 2009

Westvaco Inspirations

Thursday, February 5, 2009

But Does It Float?

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

Vintage Soda Packaging


The Dieline has a nice post on vintage soda packaging - you should check it out.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Hi-Fi Literature


A great collection of Hi-Fi Stereo manuals and literature - Hi-Fi Lit.

Labels: , , ,

Monday, February 2, 2009

Vintage Posters


I am always a sucker for vintage posters and this French blog always has a choice selection.

Labels: , , ,

Sunday, February 1, 2009

Way of Women


Italy's Sportmax Code has an online magazine profiling women artists/designers/thinkers from around the world.

Labels: , ,