douglas wilson

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Polaroids on Murketing.com


I am late posting this, but my Vernacular Typography Polaroids were recently the "Flickr Set of the Month" on The Journal of Murketing. Thanks to Rob and Tom!

Labels: , ,

Type Specimen Books


Flickr user :Nike has a seriously enviable collection of Type Specimen Books.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, March 29, 2009

The Periodic Table of Typefaces

Saturday, March 28, 2009

Keep Calm and Parody


Everyone seems to be making parodies of the classic British WWII poster "Keep Calm and Carry On" these days.

Honestly, it is getting a bit silly - as good friend Frank Chimero points out with his poster above.

Labels: ,

Friday, March 27, 2009

Skylab Letterpress


Check out this great video of a Heidelberg Windmill in action at Skylab Letterpress in Kansas City, Missouri.

Labels: , ,

Thursday, March 26, 2009

Japanese Gas Attack Posters

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Strictly No Photography


We have all done it. Taking a photo, where we are not supposed to being taking pictures.

We are not alone. Here is the proof.

via Coudal.

Labels: ,

Sunday, March 22, 2009

StrongBad on Logos


Practically with every new logo that comes out, I am reminded of this StrongBad Email that sums up the new web 2.0 crappy, shiny, 3-D logo trends.

Labels: , ,

Friday, March 20, 2009

Envelopes (1992 - )


Artist Andrew Bush (of previously linked 66 Drives fame) has an astounding collection of photographs of envelopes. Sounds boring, I know, but it totally isn't.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Explanatory Slings

Monday, March 16, 2009

Just Don't Look Down


Awesome Aerial Tramways of the World. I've been lucky enough to ride the tramway in the image above in Masada, Israel.

Labels:

Saturday, March 14, 2009

Rasmus Norlander


Rasmus Norlander is a Stockholm based photographer that takes some really fantastic images.

Labels: ,

Friday, March 13, 2009

Flavor


Juan Camilo Rojas has created a work of art that has the potential to give you stained teeth, fingers, and hair; increased frequency of colds and bronchitis; asthma; neuralgia; gastrointestinal difficulties;headaches; nausea; and convulsions - to name a few.

Labels: ,

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Grain Edit Interviews Frank!


My great friend just got interviewed by a great website..

Congrats Frank!

Labels: , ,

Silhouettes in a Museum

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Harry Potter Book Cover Redesign


I'm not a fan of fantasy books, but these fictional book covers for Harry Potter might just make me want to read them!

Labels: , ,

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Notgeld - Pre-Inflationary German Currency


When the German government could not stop inflation after World War One, towns and businesses started printing their own money because the official money was worthless.

A Flickr set of Notgeld: Emergency Currency.

Labels: ,

Sunday, March 8, 2009

Type + Travel


A Flickr set combining my two favorite things. Type + Travel.

Labels: , ,

Saturday, March 7, 2009

Young Artists Print!


Another elementary school class has done a printing project based on some of my work! This time it is a fourth grade class in Indiana - awesome!

Check it out here!

Labels: , ,

Friday, March 6, 2009

El Al Playing Cards


The always good Grain Edit has a great feature on playing cards designed for El Al Airlines.

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Flashy Letterpress


OutOfSorts Press has a fantastic flash intro to their website that shows the process of letterpress printing simply and quickly. Nice!

Labels: ,

Monday, March 2, 2009

TDC 2009 Winners



Congratulations to all of the 2009 Type Directors Club winners!

Labels: ,

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Stale Potato Chips


I took this photo a while ago when I was visiting family in Iowa. I have always loved Fareway's sign and I wanted to document it as it makes me think of the stale potato chips that my grandparents would buy when we would visit. Good memories.

Labels: ,